The Human Development Report Team

The mission of the Human Development Report Office (HDRO) is to advance human development. The goal is to contribute towards the expansion of opportunities, choice and freedom. The office works towards this goal by promoting innovative new ideas, advocating practical policy changes, and constructively challenging policies and approaches that constrain human development. The office works with others to achieve change through writing and research, data analysis and presentation, support to national and regional analysis and outreach and advocacy work.

The Human Development Report Office is supported by an Advisory Panel which provides strategic guidance and feedback to the team in preparation of the 2014 Human Development Report and a Statistical Advisory Panel that provides guidance on our human development data and indices.

  • Dr. Hanan Daoud Khalil Ashrawi (Palestine), Legislator, activist, and scholar
  • Professor Edward S. Ayensu (Ghana), Scientist, Former Chairman, World Bank Inspection Panel, Fellow Wolfson College, Oxford; Founding Fellow, African Academy of Sciences.
  • Professor Cristovam Ricardo Cavalcanti Buarque (Brazil), Senator and Professor, University Brasilia; Former Governor of Brasilia ; Former Minister of Education
  • Mr. Michael Elliott (UK), President and Chief Executive Officer, ONE
  • Professor Patrick Guillaumont (France), Président de la Fondation pour les Etudes et Recherches sur le Développement International (FERDI)
  • Professor Ricardo Hausmann (Venezuela), Director, Center for International Development, Harvard University
  • Dr. Nanna Hvidt (Denmark), Director, Danish Institute for International Studies; Former Director, Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Dr. Rima Khalaf (Jordan), Under-Secretary-General and Executive Secretary, UN-ESCWA; Former Assistant Secretary-General and Director of the Regional Bureau for Arab States at UNDP
  • Professor Nora Lustig, Samuel Z. Stone Professor of Latin American Economics, Department of Economics,Tulane University
  • Professor Sir James Mirrlees Alexander (UK), Master, Morningside College, Chinese University of Hong Kong; Nobel Laureate, Economic Science 1996
  • Professor Thandika Mkandawire (Uganda), Professor of African Development, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Professor José Antonio Ocampo (Colombia), Director, Economic and Political Development Concentration, Columbia University School of International and Public Affairs
  • Dr. Rajendra K. Pachauri (India), Chair, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change; Director General TERI; Head Yale Climate and Energy Institute; Accepted Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of IPCC (2007)
  • Mr. Samir Radwan (Egypt), Economist; Former Minister of Finance; Former Senior ILO Official
  • Dr. Rizal Ramli (Indonesia), Economist; Former Minister of Finance
  • Professor Gustav Ranis (US), Frank Altschul Professor Emeritus of International Economics, Yale University
  • Professor Frances Stewart (UK), Director of CRISE, Oxford Department of International Development
  • Professor Akihiko Tanaka (Japan), President, Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
  • Dr. Ruan Zongze (China), Vice President, China Institute of International Studies
  • Special Advisor: Professor A. K. Shiva Kumar (India), Visiting Professor at the Indian School of Business in Hyderabad; Professor of economics and public policy at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government; Adviser to UNICEF, India